Can America Stand, in the Midst of it All?

This week my heart has truly been saddened by the recent tragedy that took place in San Bernardino, CA, and my thoughts and prayers have been with the victims, their families, and friends all over the world.

However, my heart is deeply troubled and concerned about the state and future of our country…The United States of America, our beloved homeland.  I admit, I am a man of little understanding.  And, for the life of me, I just cannot  understand how something like this can occur.  Or rather, why we as a country, one nation, under God, can allow this to occur.  And, we can sugar coat this however we may, but the truth is, as a nation, we, allowed this to happen,  and, it will only get worse, if we continue on the course we are on.

I recall within the first days after this tragedy took place, very few called it an act of terrorism.  Even our leaders at the highest level were reluctant to call it an act of terrorism until “furtherflag-at-half-mast-2” investigation took place.  The truth is, it was an act of terrorism from the very beginning.  Domestic, or international, it was terrorism at it’s finest.  And, in watching the news today, we know it was a terrorist attack connected to ISIS.  But, this is the one thing I cannot grasp, the one thing I don’t get.  The FBI knew nothing of this family.  They were under no surveillance.  No watch.  But, yet they knew (FBI) that they had been in contact with international terrorist cells.  Yet, that in itself  was of no concern.  Seriously!   And, today we are calling it the greatest terrorist attack on U.S. soil since 9/11.  That concerns me, as an American.  It really strengthens my faith in our government, that our “presidents” strategy” is working.

How can we as a country be the world’s keeper, when we cannot keep our own?  How can we police terrorism abroad, when we cannot police it at home?  Just questions I find myself asking.

I’ve never been a big fan of Donald Trump, but he said something recently that I’ve been thinking for a while.  It went something like this, ” If America continues on the course she is on, America will fall.”  And, I believe that is a fatal truth.  We are at a turning point in our nation.  There are a lot of issues that America is facing today.  But, everything is secondary when it comes to protecting our nation and national security;  That for ourselves, and all future Americans.   We need to protect our home first, from within, then from without.  And, I just think we as American’s need to wake up to the realities of the America we are living in, or, one day, we will wake up, and there will be no America at all.   HB

 

About hrschbw

Hello, I'm Herschel. And, I'll be the first to say, that I am not a writer. Although, there was a day, long ago, that I considered writing as a career. Yet, life took me in a totally different direction. Today, I find myself just putting my thoughts down, simply with pen and paper. I'm a little old-fashioned maybe, in that sort of way. I simply find myself writing about whats real, and relevant to me, based off what life has given me. If what I write touches you, then my heart is truly at ease. For what it tells me, lets me know, that we are truly in this thing called "Life" together. And so, I thank each of you for taking the time to stop by, for liking my writings, and giving me the honor, that you would somehow follow me. And, so, I'm not a writer, a poet, or even perhaps a great blogger. All I can simply say, is that I write from a heart that's real, a place that somewhere along the way, I forgot existed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

